DeGraw, Kupres Win XTERRA San Tan 23K

Next up in the XTERRA Arizona Trail Series is XTERRA White Tanks Trail Run on January 6, 2019.

Nov. 13, 2018

Art DeGraw and Megan Kupres captured the titles at the XTERRA San Tan 23K in Queen Creek, Arizona on November 11th, 2018.

DeGraw, who was undefeated last year in the XTERRA Arizona Trail Series, won with a time of 1:35:33. Kory McCarthy was second in 1:46:12, and Clinton Barrett was third in 1:47:00.

For the women, Megan Kupres – who won XTERRA Estrella Mountain last month – won the women’s division with a time of 1:51:23. Briana Tiffany was second in 1:56:09, and Kyle Colburn was third in 2:19:05. 

"Overall, I could not have asked for a more perfect day," said Kupres. "XTERRA San Tan was a surprise for me. I had never been out in those trails before so the sandy wash and climb at the end were tougher than I was expecting."

In the 8K race, Darcy Berard won the men’s race with a time of 29:52. Jacob Hernandez was second in 30:12, and Jorge Corona was third in 30:25. In the women’s division, Ariz Duarte took the title in 34:15. Anette Carrasco was second in 35:16, and Melissa Verhaeghe was third in 35:25.

XTERRA San Tan is second in a five-race series which began on October 7, 2018, and runs until March 10, 2019. Next up is XTERRA White Tanks Trail Run on January 6, 2019, in Waddell, Arizona. Athletes can earn points in each race of the XTERRA Arizona Trail Run Series. 100 points are awarded to each age group champ, with points awarded through 15th place. The athlete with the most points- by gender and age group- after the last race in the Series earns the title of XTERRA Trail Run Regional Champion and earns free entry into the XTERRA National Championship in Ogden, Utah in September. If a race offers two distances, only the longer distance awards XTERRA Series Points. 

View Results

Trail Run
Race Reports