McCarthy, Kupres Win XTERRA Estrella Mountain

Oct. 8, 2018

Kory McCarthy and Megan Kupres captured the titles at the XTERRA Estrella Mountain 20K in Estrella Mountain Park, west of Phoenix, Arizona.

McCarthy won the race with a time of 1:33:08. Kyle Herrig was second in 1:34:48 and Najim Mahmoud was third in 1:34:59. In fourth was last year’s XTERRA Arizona Trail Run Series undefeated champ, Art DeGraw, who in 2018 was the overall champ at XTERRA Black Canyon, McDowell Mountain, White Tanks, San Tan, and Estrella Mountain.

Unfortunately, DeGraw took a wrong turn, which set him back but expect to see him back on the podium at the next race in the series, the XTERRA San Tan Trail Run 8/23K on November 11th. DeGraw remained a great sport about the day.

"It was still a fun race and a great day to be out on the trails," said DeGraw. "Just took the wrong course at a crucial turn for a couple miles.  I knew the course didn't seem correct but didn't listen to my instincts."

In the women’s race, last year’s XTERRA Estrella Mountain Champ, Megan Kupres won for a second year in a row with a time of 1:37:50, which is a sub-8 minute pace for the 20K course. Danielle O’Neill was about 10 minutes back with a time of 1:48:34, and Arcy Selk was third in 1:54:22.

Last year Kupres was third overall at XTERRA McDowell Mountain and the overall champ at XTERRA Estrella Mountain. She won her age group at both races.

XTERRA Estrella Mountain also offered an 8K race, which Jacob Hernandez claimed with a time of 33:55. Jaime Cordova was next with a time of 34:05, and Danny Luedtke was third in 34:29.  In the women's division, Stefanie Borg won the 8K in 40:04 while Callie Fitts was next in 44:53. Heather Beutel was third in 46:39.

View Results

Trail Run