Regional Champs Running for a National Title

Sep. 9, 2016
Patrick Smyth and Liz Stephen are returning to Snowbasin Resort near Ogden, Utah to defend their Paul Mitchell XTERRA National Championship half-marathon crowns this Sunday.
“I’m coming back because I want to win, and the course is a great mix of brutal climbs and fun, flowy downhills,” said Smyth, who finished 8th at the Olympic Marathon Trials in February.

There are 48 regional champions from across the country headed to Ogden, Utah for a shot at the Paul Mitchell XTERRA Trail Running National Championship.

One of the perks for winning your division in your region during the regular season is a comp entry into Nationals, and it has proven successful in getting some of the best runners from each region together for a bona-fide championship race in Utah.

As proof, consider this, the men’s 40-44 division regional champions from the Florida Series, Alabama Series, Texas Series, Colorado Series, and Northeast Series will all be on the start line next Sunday.

Here’s a look at all the regional winners on the start list so far, sorted by division …

SOCAL F10-14 Natasha Preece San Diego, CA
ATLANTIC F20-24 Rachel Marino Manahawkin, NJ
SOCAL F25-29 Danielle Casteel San Diego, CA
SOCAL F35-39 Tina Weissauer Topanga, CA
FLORIDA F35-39 Jeni James Windermere, FL
ALABAMA F35-39 Sasha Robertson Oxford, AL
ARIZONA F40-44 Angela Caruso Scottsdale, AZ
SOCAL F40-44 Shannon Deck Woodland Hills, CA
TEXAS F40-44 Stephayne Gibson San Antonio, TX
COLORADO F40-44 Allison Simpson Woodland Park, CO
FLORIDA F45-49 Ellen Alence Lithia, FL
FLORIDA F50-54 Adriana Nieves Seminole, FL
TEXAS F50-54 Terry Joy Austin, TX
FLORIDA F55-59 Peggy Brinkley St. Petersburg, FL
ALABAMA F55-59 Lynn Bolger Mobile, AL
ARIZONA F65-69 Ingrid Honzak Phoenix, AZ
ALABAMA F65-69 Luvern Blackwood Trafford, AL
COLORADO F65-69 Jo May Houston, TX
SOCAL M10-14 Adam Mahboubi Los Angeles, CA
ARIZONA M25-29 Andy Jeanson Gilbert, AZ
SOCAL M25-29 Anthony Fagundes Fair Oaks, CA
ALABAMA M25-29 Brad Olzinski Pelham, AL
ATLANTIC M25-29 Dillon Shaffer Belcamp, MD
SOCAL M30-34 Sean Eosefow Long Beach, CA
TEXAS M30-34 Luis Murillo Houston, TX
TENNESSEE M30-34 Nathan Helton Knoxville, TN
ARIZONA M35-39 Jason Stevens Waddell, AZ
TENNESSEE M35-39 Kevin Beshaw Knoxville, TN
FLORIDA M40-44 Chris Martin Windermere, FL
ALABAMA M40-44 John Gilbert Birmingham, AL
TEXAS M40-44 Juan Murillo Houston, TX
COLORADO M40-44 Todd Short Woodland Park, CO
NORTHEAST M40-44 Simon Edgett Milford, CT
SOCAL M45-49 Eric Reed Vista, CA
FLORIDA M45-49 Jay Lund Bonita Springs, FL
ATLANTIC M45-49 Scott Boyce Salisbury, MD
TENNESSEE M45-49 David Kyle Cleveland, TN
ARIZONA M50-54 Blake Sacha Gilbert, AZ
SOCAL M50-54 Mark Donaldson Trabuco Canyon, CA
SOCAL M55-59 Eric Rignot Irvine, CA
TEXAS M55-59 Michael Fussell Grapevine, TX
ARIZONA M60-64 Melvin Betani Peoria, AZ
FLORIDA M60-64 Rance Blair Tampa, FL
ALABAMA M60-64 Norman Bolger Mobile, AL
ALABAMA M65-69 Craig Kelly Huntsville, AL
COLORADO M65-69 Steve Parker Denver, CO
SOCAL M70-74 Hans Unger Sylmar, CA
SOCAL M75-79 John Williams Culver City, CA


Trail Run