Soley, Gobbo win XTERRA Brazil

May. 13, 2016

Albert Soley from Spain and hometown hero Sabrina Gobbo from Brazil captured the 12th annual XTERRA Brazil Championship in Ilhabela on Saturday.

It’s the first XTERRA World Tour win for Soley, who won the amateur 25-29 XTERRA World Championship in 2013 before going pro.

Soley, who finished 5th in the XTERRA European Tour standings last year, was fourth out of the water then powered his way to the front with the fastest bike split of the day.  He crossed the line in 2:11:22, more than three minutes ahead of 2014 XTERRA Brazil Champ Felipe Moletta. Last year’s winner Diogo Malagon posted the best run split of the day to finish in third.

In the women’s race Gobbo cemented her position as Brazil’s fastest female racer with her third straight XTERRA Brazil Championship win.  She’s the only Brazilian to win the championship race since its inception in 2005, and matched Shonny Vanlandingham as the only other 3x winner. Like Soley in the men’s race, Gobbo took control during the bike with the fastest split of the day and ultimately finished 10 minutes ahead of runner-up Laura Mira Dias.  Isabella Ribeiro was third.

Gobbo will now travel to the United States to race at XTERRA Oak Mountain in Alabama, the fourth stop on the XTERRA Pan America Tour title, next weekend.

“When it was announced that in 2016 they would have a Pan American XTERRA circuit, I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to evolve and try to compete with much stronger competitors then I was competing against in Brazil,” said Gobbo, who finished third behind Myriam Guillot-Boisset and Kara LaPoint at XTERRA Costa Rica in March. “This way I can get out of my comfort zone and try to reach for that extra power to achieve more, something that sometimes we don't think we have.”

XTERRA Brazil was the 12th of 37 events where the fastest amateur athletes from around the world could qualify to race at the 21st annual XTERRA World Championship at Kapalua, Maui on Oct 23.

Photos / Complete Results


Year Man Woman
2016 Albert Soley Sabrina Gobbo
2015 Diogo Malagon Sabrina Gobbo
2014 Felipe Moletta Sabrina Gobbo
2013 Conrad Stoltz Shonny Vanlandingham
2012 Felipe Moletta Shonny Vanlandingham
2011 Ben Allen Carina Wasle
2010 Dan Hugo Shonny Vanlandingham
2009 Rom Akerson Maria Omar
2008 Alexandre Manzan Carla Prada
2007 Mike Vine Candy Angle
2006 Nico Lebrun Candy Angle
2005 Conrad Stoltz Jamie Whitmore


XTERRA Brazil was the third of 10 stops on the new XTERRA Pan Am Tour. Racers count their best four scores plus what they earn at the XTERRA Pan American Championship race September 17 in Utah.

Here's a look at the updated standings, showing Josiah Middaugh on top by virture of his win at XTERRA Argentina and second-place showing at XTERRA Costa Rica.

Myriam Guillot-Boisset leads the women's chase after winning XTERRA Costa Rica and XTERRA Argentina on back-to-back weekends in March.

After 3 - 5.9.16

1 Josiah Middaugh, USA 167
2 Karsten Madsen, CAN 90
3 Jonatan Morales, ARG 82
4 Karl Shaw, GBR 75
5 Oscar Galindez, ARG 75
6 Albert Soley, ESP 75
7 Lucas Mendez, ARG 69
8 Felipe Moletta, BRA 67
9 Mario De Elias, ARG 63
10 Rom Akerson, CRC 61
11 Diogo Malagon, BRA 61
12 Facu Medard, ARG 58
13 Francois Carloni, FRA 56
14 Bruno Silva, BRA 56
15 Ian King, USA 53
16 Federico Venegas, CRC 51
17 Frederico Zacharias, BRA 51
18 Mauro Ayesa, USA 49
19 Greg Schott, USA 47
20 Raul Furtado, BRA 47
21 Victor Arenas, ARG 45
22 Henrique Lugarini, BRA 43
23 Parada Penagos, ARG 41
24 Eduardo Marcolino, BRA 39
25 Rodrigo Altafini, BRA 36
26 Stenio Bezerra, BRA 33
27 Rogério Paula, BRA 30
28 Ramon Bustos, BRA 27
29 Cristiam Suzin, BRA 25
30 Juscelino Vasco, BRA 23
31 Wellington Conceição, BRA 21

1 Miriam Guillot-Boisset, FRA 175
2 Laura Mira Dias, BRA 149
3 Sabrina Gobbo, BRA 136
4 Fabiola Corona, MEX 90
5 Erika Simon, ARG 75
6 Kara Lapoint, USA 67
7 Isabella Ribeiro 61
8 Caitlin Snow, USA 56
9 Luisa Saft 56
10 Caroline Colonna, USA 51
11 Vanessa Cabrini 51
12 Rebecca Blatt, USA 47
13 Fernanda Prieto 47
14 Brisa Melcop 43
15 Beatriz Granziera 39
16 Melania Giraldi 36
17 Monalisa Vieira 33
Pan Am