The Outrigger Resorts Double

Oct. 9, 2015

The “Outrigger Resorts Double” award is given to the pro and amateur man and woman with the fastest combined 2015 XTERRA World Championship and Ironman Hawaii Championship time, a feat reserved for the world’s leading endurance athletes.  Pro athletes are awarded US $2,500 with the top amateur man and woman win a 6-night stay at a Maui Outrigger Resort. All double finishers earn a commemorative tee.

Bart Aernouts from Belgium won the men’s elite title with a combined time of 11:07:24 last year. Janez Klancnik from Slovenia won the men's amateur double in 12:42:03, and Nicole Valentine of Maryland overcame a 16-minute deficit after Ironman to take the women's amateur double over Kelley Hess.

Here’s a look at this year’s “doublers” and their finish times in Kona. It looks like Nicole Valentine is in good shape to repeat as the women’s amateur double champ and if Brent McMahon doesn’t jump into XTERRA Worlds Ben Hoffman will just need to finish to claim the elite honors.

Tentative list, as of 10.13.15

First Hometown Division IM Time
Ben Hoffman Grand Junction, CO, USA PRO 9:05:22
Nicole Valentine Germantown, MD, USA F 30-34 10:25:49
Uta Knape Ludwigshafen, Germany F 40-44 11:36:17
Megan Arthur Hamilton, New Zealand F 40-44 11:43:22
Marina Klemm Berlin, Germany F 40-44 13:04:35
Janie White Paradise Valley, AZ, USA F 55-59 11:49:45
Richard Byyny Denver, CO, USA M 40-44 15:48:52
Jorg Schneider Altenriet, Germany M 45-49 10:08:11
Arnaud Bouvier Digne les Bains, France M 45-49 10:10:35
Bruno Glaser Brestanica, Slovenia M 45-49 10:52:22
Mike Johnston Wanaka, New Zealand M 45-49 10:56:31
Sunny Garcia Maili, HI, USA M 45-49 13:46:10
Peter Buehlow Bright, Canada M 55-59 11:15:21
Rob Kronkhyte Tahoe City, CA, USA M 55-59 14:27:48