Steve Cole Still Perfect: 2015 XTERRA Regional Champions

Sep. 4, 2015

The XTERRA America Tour’s 65-race regular season that started in March and stretched across the continental United States and into Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and Saipan came to a close on Saturday, and as such it’s time to recognize the regional champions.

Click here to view the 11x17 PDF listing all 183 athletes that won their region this year. Winners have been invited to race in the XTERRA USA Championship (along with other top age group finishers – see final points standings here) and will be honored at the Night of Champions dinner at Union Station on Historic 25th Street in downtown Ogden, Utah on Friday, Sept. 18.

Topping the list once more is 2011 Mr. XTERRA and former National Champ Steve Cole, a pilot living in Alpharetta, Georgia.  Cole remains the only racer in XTERRA history to win all 15 regional championships since the inception of the America tour back in 2001. He was the best age group racer in the South Central’s 45-49 division from 2001 to 2005, won the SC 50-54 division from 2006-2010, and this year won his fifth straight 55-59 division title.

While Cole is the only 15-time regional champ, Beverly Enslow of Metamora, Illinois is the most prolific female age grouper with 14 regional titles in the Midwest region.  Cindi Toepel is right behind with 13 titles. Russell Clark and Linda Usher have 12. Kyle Grieser, Barbara Peterson, Casey Fannin, Kathy Frank, Errol Lassiter, Hans Dieben, and G L Brown all have 11, and Ken Robins is the only other member of the double-digit club with 10.

Also of note, there are three athletes who won their region this year – a full 15 years after winning their region in the inaugural 2001 season: Steve Cole, Hans Dieben, and Lorenn Walker.