2014 XTERRA Regional Champions Released - Steve Cole, Beverly Enslow Still on Top

Sep. 5, 2014

The XTERRA America Tour’s 70-race regular season that started in March and stretched across the continental United States and into Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and Saipan came to a close on Sunday, and as such it’s time to recognize the regional champions.

Click here to view the 11x17 PDF listing all 184 athletes that won their region this year. Winners were invited to race in the XTERRA USA Championship (along with other top age group finishers – see final points standings here) and will be honored at the Night of Champions dinner at Union Station on Historic 25th Street in downtown Ogden, Utah on Friday, Sept. 19.

Topping the list once more is 2011 Mr. XTERRA and former National Champ Steve Cole, a pilot living in Alpharetta, Georgia.  Cole remains the only racer in XTERRA history to win all 14 regional championships since the inception of the America tour back in 2001. He was the best age group racer in the South Central’s 45-49 division from 2001 to 2005, won the SC 50-54 division from 2006-2010, and is now on his fourth straight 55-59 division title.

While Cole is the only 14-time regional champ, Beverly Enslow of Metamora, Illinois is the most prolific female age grouper with 13 regional titles in the Midwest region.  Cindi Toepel is right behind with 12 titles. Kyle Grieser, Barbara Peterson, Casey Fannin, Russell Clark, Kathy Frank, and Linda Usher have 11, and Hans Dieben, Errol Lassiter, G L Brown, and Ken Robins joined the double-digit club with 10.

Also of note, there are three athletes who won their region this year – a full 14 years after winning their region in the inaugural 2001 season: Steve Cole, Hans Dieben, and Lorenn Walker.

View Full List of Regional Champions