XTERRA European Tour Starts Saturday

May. 23, 2014

The XTERRA European Tour opens its 12th season Saturday with an unprecedented 12 majors in 2014 including new stops in Portugal, Sweden, Norway, and Denmark.

For the second straight year the Series will start in Spain (May 24), a country home to  more XTERRA World Championship men’s pro titles than any other with six combined between Eneko Llanos (3), Ruben Ruzafa (2), and Javier Gomez.  The following weekend the Tour visits a new venue and new local organizer for XTERRA Portugal in Golega.

Then starting on June 21 the XTERRA European Tour heads to Greece, Switzerland/Norway, France, Sweden, Italy, Czech, Germany, England, and Denmark.

Of note, the XTERRA Germany Championship in Zittau on August 16 will double as the ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships.  With XTERRA Czech a week before and XTERRA England a week after, there’s a neat opportunity for Americans (and athletes from around the world) to race for their nation and have two or three chances to qualify for XTERRA Worlds at the same time.

Here’s a look at the schedule:

May 24, 2014 – XTERRA Spain Championship – La Manga
Jun 01, 2014 – XTERRA Portugal – Golega
Jun 21, 2014 – XTERRA Greece – Lake Plastira
Jun 28, 2014 – XTERRA Switzerland Championship – Vallee de Joux
Jun 29, 2014 – XTERRA Norway – Horten
Jul 06, 2014 – XTERRA France Championship – Xonrupt
Jul 13, 2014 – XTERRA Sweden – Stockholm
Jul 26, 2014 – XTERRA Abruzzo – Lago di Scanno
Aug 09, 2014 – XTERRA Czech Championship – Prachatice
Aug 16, 2014 – XTERRA Germany Championship (ITU Cross Triathlon World Championship) – Zittau
Aug 24, 2014 – XTERRA England – Cranleigh
Aug 31, 2014 – XTERRA Denmark – Tisvilde

Past XTERRA European Tour Champions
2013       Hector Guerra (ESP) / Helena Erbenova (CZE)
2012       Nicolas Lebrun (FRA) / Helena Erbenova (CZE)
2011       Olivier Marceau (SUI) / Marion Lorblanchet (FRA)
2010       Franky Batelier (FRA) / Marion Lorblanchet (FRA)
2009       Franky Batelier (FRA) / Renata Bucher (SUI)
2008       Nicolas Lebrun (FRA) / Renata Bucher (SUI)
2007       Nicolas Lebrun (FRA) / Eszter Erdelyi (HUN)
2006       Nicolas Lebrun (FRA) / Renata Bucher (SUI)
2005       Olivier Marceau (SUI) / Renata Bucher (SUI)
2004       Olivier Marceau (SUI) / Jamie Whitmore (USA)
2003       Royce Kortekaas (NED) / Jamie Whitmore (USA)