XTERRA Worlds XVIII This Sunday, Oct. 27

Oct. 25, 2013

Eight hundred athletes from 35 countries and 43 U.S. states are gathered at Kapalua Resort on Maui’s northwest coast and on Sunday at 9am, will put their mental and physical toughness up against Mother Nature at the 18th running of the XTERRA World Championship.

Tree Tunnel in KapaluaFans can follow it live atwww.xterraMAUI.comstarting at 9am Hawaii time (12 noon PST, 3pm EST, 9pm in Europe, 6am in Sydney, Australia, 8am in New Zealand, 4pm in Brazil).  XTERRA MC Kalei Waiwaiole will document all the action from the swim, transitions, and finish line.  There will also be streaming results available at http://results.bazumedia.com/event/results/event/event-5940

In the lead-up to Sunday’s race the XTERRA crew sat down with dozens of the sports’ biggest names including Conrad Stoltz, Dan Hugo, Josiah Middaugh, Lesley Paterson, Helena Erbenova and more.  To hear their thoughts leading into the race visithttp://www.ustream.tv/channel/xterralive

The pro press briefing featuring the top contenders will take place Friday at 1pm Hawaii time for the men; 1:30pm for the women.  Listen in at www.xterralive.com, and all interviews (pre and post-race) can be found at www.facebook.com/xterraplanet.

This will be the 18th straight year a nationally broadcast one-hour show is produced on the event. The 2012 XTERRA World Championship show was seen by more than four million viewers.  This year’s show will start its run in national syndication in mid-January 2014.

For those lucky enough to be in Maui The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is the place to be to watch the swim, the swim-to-bike and bike-to-run transitions, and the finish line. Announcers will be on-site providing live race updates, plus there’s great food, the Paul Mitchell cut-a-thon, XTERRA Souvenirs, Kona Brewing Liquid Aloha Lounge, and a front row seat to one of the greatest spectacles in all of sport - the spontaneous, ecstatic, and sometimes tear-jerking displays of emotion at the finish line.

The world’s premier off-road triathlon, XTERRA Worlds combines a 1.5-kilometer (1-mile) swim that starts in front of the Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua … a 32-kilometer (20-miles) mountain bike that climbs more than 3,300 feet up and down the lower slopes of the West Maui Mountains, and a 10-kilometer (6-miles) trail run that traverses forest trails, and beach sand.

The XTERRA World Championship race is the last in a series of more than 100 off-road triathlon races held in 20 countries and 37 U.S. States.  The concept is to provide a bona-fide world championship for amateur and pro off-road triathletes. For pros there is $100,000 in prize money at stake.

Online Resources:
Event: www.xterramaui.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/XTERRAplanet
Twitter: @xterraoffroad : hashtag #xterramaui