Puerto Rico Series Completes Successful First Season

Aug. 24, 2012

Rivera Fuentes, Orta Cruz win season finale at Cabo Rojo

Puerto Rico Series RunnersThe inaugural season of the XTERRA Puerto Rico Trail Run Series came to a fast finish this month, as Carmelo Rivera Fuentes and Ileana Orta Cruz raced to impressive victories in the XTERRA Cabo Rojo Trail Run.

The season finale was held on August 12, on the scenic - and secluded - trails of Cabo Rojo. Rivera Fuentes placed first overall, completing the 7-kilometer course in 31 minutes, 29 seconds. Jose Heredia placed second in 32:09.

Orta Cruz placed sixth overall with a time of 33:06, and dominated the women's field. She finished more than nine minutes ahead of runner-up Lidivina Vargas.

Close to 200 runners participated in the Cabo Rojo Trail Run, which was the third, and final, race of the 2012 XTERRA Puerto Rico Trail Run Series.  Series director Efrain Cardona said it was the first trail run ever staged in that area of the island of Puerto Rico.

"That part of the island has amazing mountain bike trails, so we were happy to bring trail running there for the first time," he said. "Many of the folks from that part of the island ran, so we were successful in finding new runners."

This was the first year of the XTERRA Puerto Rico Trail Run Series, and the three races drew more than 700 total entries.

Terry McIntyre and his son, Keenan, entered all three of the races in the series. Keenan, 14, captured first place in the 10-14 age group at all three races, and thus emerged with the overall series championship for his age group; Terry placed second in the overall standings for the male 45-49 age group.

"Puerto Rico has a lot of good runners," Terry said. "Keenan and I are not crazy about road races. Trail running is more exciting and very challenging - always something different on the trails. XTERRA is a great intro to trail racing."

The XTERRA Puerto Rico Trail Run Series will return for the 2012-13 season with even more races, including a new race coming up in November. To learn more about the series, please visit www.xterrapr.com.

All the age-group winners for the 2012 XTERRA Puerto Rico Trail Run Series received a free entry to the 2012 XTERRA Trail Run National Championship, which is scheduled for September 23 at Snowbasin Resort near Ogden, Utah.

Here is a list of the champions:


First Name Last Name Age Hometown State Age Group
Kristal Diaz Aponte 17 Guaynabo PR F15-19
Sheila Madera Otero 20 Hormigueros PR F20-24
Anna Sepulveda 29 Hato Rey PR F25-29
Rebecca Campos 34 Juana Diaz PR F30-34
Brenda Rodriguez 37 Vega Baja PR F35-39
Yadira Quintero 42 Toa Baja PR F40-44
Saribelle Martinez 46 San Juan PR F45-49
Nereida Robles Perez 54 Bayamon PR F50-54
Nilsa Guzman Seijo 55 Guaynabo PR F55-59
Keenan McIntyre 14 Arecibo PR M10-14
Pedro Rafael Pou Alicea 18 Juana Diaz PR M15-19
Carmelo Rivera Fuentes 23 Canovanas PR M20-24
Christian Burgos 28 Bayamon PR M25-29
Luigi Dessy 34 Ponce PR M30-34
Alberto Saldana 38 Guaynabo PR M35-39
Jose M. Calcano 42 Manati PR M40-44
Felo Medina Pagan 47 Utuado PR M45-49
Jose A. Laboy 51 Ponce PR M50-54
Luis A. Carrasquillo 62 Gurabo PR M60-64
Trail Run